The Strava Cafe Run

Two excellent cycling cafes, Look Mum No Hands in London and Giro Cafe in Esher, recently posted a blog encouraging people to ride between the two cafes. As an incentive, anyone who completes the ride and posts a photo of themselves at each cafe receives a limited edition Strava mug.

Cycling, coffee, cake aMugs-712x534nd a free mug. What’s not to love? The distance between the two cafes is only 20 miles so as a minimum that’s all you really need to do, but where’s the fun in that? So early one Sunday morning I set off from home pre-daybreak to eat up some miles (and of course, some cake).

The initial leg from home to London was fantastic, especially the jaunt through Richmond Park with the deer roaming in the early morning fog. Unfortunately I was a little faster than anticipated and arrived at LMNH before opening time! Oh well, a quick photo opportunity and then onto the next stop.

Riding out of London was not so much fun,Photogram-20140928083455 more traffic had built up and I seemed to get caught at every single traffic light in the city. Fortunately I had planned a fairly direct route so it wasn’t long before I arrived in Esher for a much deserved coffee and cake!

Another quick photo to prove my journey, flash of the pics to the friendly Giro staff and I had my mug! It was a fantastic ride and well worth the effort. I especially enjoyed meeting up with the Woking CC crew, who were also in Giro Cafe for their Sunday club ride stop! I clocked a shade over 70 miles and even managed to transport the beautiful looking mug safely home in my middle jersey pocket (not idea).

Both cafes are well worth a visit whether by cycle or otherwise. I was especially impressed with Giro’s range of drip filter coffees! Officially the #CafeRun continues until the 31st of October or until the mugs run out so be quick if you want one!

Photogram-20140928101318

mapdetails

One thought on “The Strava Cafe Run

Leave a Reply

